England Cricketers Knighted

You might think that I am smoking “TIK”, sniffing OMO or even drinking bath water seeing that I am from Cape Town, but I can assure you that I am not.

 

The reason for the heading on this post is simply because I heard something on 5 FM whilst at Gym this morning. Yes I do go to gym to go and drink coffee, but that is beside the point.

The conversation on 5 FM was regarding the fact that Bradley Wiggins, winner of the Tour de Lance, Tour de Drugs, Tour de Thugs or whatever damn tour you want to call it might, might be Knighted for his efforts. WOW! It seems like sporting achievements are so few and far between in England that you get can get Knighted for winning a Ale Drinking contest or indeed a Yorkshire Pudding eating contest. And although the Tour de France is a well-known sporting event ( still don’t think it’s a sport), I think that they are giving away Knighthood to any Tom, Dick or Sally that puts on a Tracksuit.

Rumour also has it that if England win the series against South Africa currently being contested , played that they will also be Knighted. No, just kidding!

 

One thing I would like to see regarding world rankings in Cricket is more ranking points for HUGE defeats. An innings, or 10 wickets would warrant more points than a 1 run or 1 wicket victory. You see it in golf, just look at Ernie, jumping from 40 odd to 15. Makes sense to me.

 

No more sport to look forward to until Friday.

Have a great day

PS!!!! Thats me 4x4ing in the snow.  Jealous?

Leave a comment